Missing out on this has been a great grief of my life. Source: http://www.theguardian.com/stage/theatreblog/2007/aug/14/bacchae
Missing out on this has been a great grief of my life. Source: http://www.theguardian.com/stage/theatreblog/2007/aug/14/bacchae

Right then. Yes. Ok. Here we are.

This is a sort of placeholder post to tell you that this blog is going to be my theatre blog. Soon enough I will post all sorts of wonderful things here (it won’t just be hundreds of posts mourning the fact that I never got to see that one production of Euripides’ Bacchae, with Alan Cumming as a beautiful and scary cross-dressing Dionysus, honest it won’t). I honestly believe that theatre is magic, but I also believe that it’s art – those wondrous moments when a world is created before your eyes are as much to do with a lot of people working really hard for weeks on end as they are the spell of that single moment – and I want to talk about both, the work and the essence, the thinky thoughts and the inexpressible energy.

First I’m going to be posting some reviews that are also available on the Manchester Theatre Awards website, then I will probably blog about binning old programmes (patience, young grasshopper, everything will become clear), and I also have a few exciting shows coming up that I will no doubt want to talk about. I don’t know yet how good I’ll be at updating here, so, um – we’ll see how it goes, eh? Looking forward to it.

Lizz

